Explore the community Forums Lectora Lectora Questions & Answers HTML Extension, Javascript, Will not add to page

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Benjamin Slack
    Benjamin Slack
    beginner
    intermediate
    picture perfect
    friend finder
    curious george
    wise owl
    1 pt
    @bslack5361

Greetings folks.

I’m fairly new to Lectora, but I have a CS background. I’m attempting to dip my toes in, investigating how to add script to a title to give custom functionality. To that end I made this little toy function.

<script>
    /*
     * !CODE ADDED HERE!
     */

// start slack_lec_helpers.js
    function benAssignClass (object_id, class_id){
    	var div = document.getElementById(object_id);
    	var spans = div.getElementsByTagName("span");
    	var i = 0;
    	for (i=0;i<spans.length; i++){
    		spans[i].class = class_id;
    	}
    }
    // end slack_lec_helpers.js
    </script>

I placed it in a js file and tried to embed it via HTML Extension. I then called the function from an action script. However, the code doesn’t show up on the page where the HTML Extension says it should be when I preview it. I’ve tried Top of page script, header scripting, and bottom of the page. No code gets inserted, no js file gets sourced. I’ve tried in script tags and sans script tags. I’ve tried script in comments and without. I’ve read a half dozen tutorials that say this is the way to go about things, but they don’t seem to work here. Any ideas why my code is not getting added to the title? Thanks in advance for the assist.

-B

#411037 Score: 1
    Profile photo of Tim K
    Tim K
    contributor
    beginner
    intermediate
    advanced
    friend finder
    junior moderator
    advocate
    wise owl
    curious george
    Group Member
    251 pts
    @timk

There are several ways to add custom JS. I’ve added a sample that contains 4.