Explore the community Forums Lectora Lectora Questions & Answers Need Help Creating Custom Content using additional programming

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Melanie Meister
    Melanie Meister
    beginner
    intermediate
    friend finder
    @mmeister1007

Hello all, I am a newbie.  I have been tasked with creating an additional login/register admin area that would display reporting from those who tested but also that interfaces with a MySQL database that is being feed with the testing results.  I honestly don’t know where to start.  Can I use VBScript or PHP custom code to incorporate that into a current Lectora program?  If I can, how can I do this or can you point me into the direction of where I should be posting this?

#309423 Score: 0
    Profile photo of Math Notermans
    Math Notermans
    contributor
    intermediate
    advanced
    friend finder
    junior moderator
    advocate
    LUC16 Attendee
    LUC16
    wise owl
    curious george
    118 pts
    @mnotermans5114

Hi Melanie,

VBScript i am not sure about if and how it can be connected with Lectora. PHP is server side. So yes, you can connect from Lectora with a PHP script. You can connect with a PHP script by either using a Javascript call in your course somewhere or by using the forms built in Lectora. In both cases you would need to pass variables by using GET or POST data. The serverside script acts on that data and gives back some feedback you can show/work with in Lectora.

Another option is like this sample:
    https://community.trivantis.com/shared-content/online-journal-proof-of-concept-v2/