Explore the community Forums Lectora Lectora Questions & Answers Very Simple guide to using variables

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Pip Valleley
    Pip Valleley
    beginner
    intermediate
    Group Member
    wise owl
    curious george
    contributor
    friend finder
    1 pt
    @pvalleley3585

Hi, I’m quite new to using Lectora online and although I’m doing ok I cannot understand variables.  I’ve looked at a number of examples online but am still struggling to create even a simple one. ☹️

Are there any really (really) simple step by step guides to say, stop a user using the next button unless they have clicked on three different images (in any order).  I have looked at several of these but usually there are more options than my brain can cope with!  Can anyone help get me started?

Pip

#369363 Score: 1
    Profile photo of Stan Miller
    Stan Miller
    beginner
    intermediate
    LUC16 Attendee
    wise owl
    contributor
    curious george
    friend finder
    LUC17 Attendee
    35 pts
    @smiller7502

Pip, see if this gets you started:

Create Your Variables

1. On the Tools tab, click Variables.
    2. Click Add.
    3. In the Variable Name box, type a name for your variable. The name can be any combination of letters and numbers, plus _. For this example, create a variable called Button1Clicked.
    4. In the Initial Value box, type False.
    5. Check the box labeled Retain variable value between sessions.
    6. Click OK.
    7. Repeat steps 2-6 to add variables called Button2Clicked and Button3Clicked.
    8. Click Close.

Assign Actions to Your Buttons

1. Click the action for your first button. (If it doesn’t have an action yet, add one.)
    2. Click the Action tab.
    3. Be sure the Trigger is set to Mouse Click.